Three-Dimensional Model on Thermal Response of Skin Subject to Laser Heating

Wensheng Shen, and Jun Zhang
Laboratory for High Performance Scientific Computing and Computer Simulation
Department of Computer Science
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0046, USA

Fuqian Yang
Department of Chemical and Materials Engineering
University of Kentucky
Lexington, KY 40506-0046, USA


A three-dimensional (3D) multilayer model based on the skin physical structure is developed to investigate the transient thermal response of human skin subject to laser heating. The temperature distribution of the skin is modeled by the bioheat transfer equation, and the influence of laser heating is expressed as a source term where the strength of the source is a product of a Gaussian shaped incident irradiance, an exponentially shaped axial attenuation, and a time function. The water evaporation and diffusion is included in the model by adding two terms regarding the heat loss due to the evaporation and diffusion, where the rate of water evaporation is determined based on the theory of laminar boundary layer. Cryogen spray cooling (CSC) in laser therapy is studied, as well as its effect on the skin thermal response. The time-dependent equation is discretized using the finite difference method with the Crank-Nicholson scheme and the stability of the numerical method is analyzed. The large sparse linear system resulted from discretizing the governing partial differential equation is solved by GMRES solver and expected simulation results are obtained.

Key words: Bioheat and mass transfer, laser heating, thermal injury, finite difference, iterative solver.

Mathematics Subject Classification:

Download the compressed postscript file, or the PDF file wensheng2.pdf.
Technical Report 409-04, Department of Computer Science, University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY, 2004.

This research work was supported in part by NSF under grants CCR-9988165, CCR-0092532, ACR-0202934, ACR-0234270, in part by DOE under grant DE-FG02-02ER45961, and in part by the University of Kentucky Research Committee.